Good Advice on buying wine!

Dear Winephantoms Aunt,

 

Yet another scare I get for Halloween!  I have once again been duped by a wine merchant. Not having fantastic wine know how and spending some time away from home I went to an attractive looking but unfamiliar liquor store.

I, like many others find these places somewhat intimidating and when the rather dour and humourless merchant himself approached me, I felt cornered, took his advice and left the shop with two mid priced old Spaniards in wire cages. 

They were awful,-bitter and dried out and clearly not appreciated by my host or fellow guests.

 This is not the first time this has happened to me, what can I do besides reading wine encyclopedias to stop been hoodwinked by unscrupulous wine merchants?

 

Sarah-Chester

 

Dear Sarah,

 Two lessons can learned from this episode.

 Firstly treat those wire cages like one of Cher’s costumes in the early 90s. They look great but when you get in closer to open them you see an old tired wine that is long past it’s best.

Secondly, the consumption of wine is about conversation, good company and enjoyment. Sound advice would be to try to buy your wine from someone who has a face that looks like they could tell a good story about a colonoscopy rather than someone who has a face that looks like they are undergoing a colonoscopy!

 

W.A

About winephantom

The recession has hit hard, no more tipping the last 1/2 glass out of the champagne bottle because it's a tad too warm. My lender would be kicking down my door for his interest if he knew I was drinking at all. Now I spend my time with the €5-€10 bottles discovering some real value and encountering some swamp donkeys to be avoided. This blog is a Wine Diploma holding palate, forced to trawl the murky depths populated by the bare knuckle fighters of the "entry level" wine world, trying to reveal the real crackers. Tasting notes exposed!! Regular explanations of the rubbish that are tasting notes! Wine Waffle indeed! Stories and trivia about wine.
This entry was posted in Wine Problem Page-Agony Aunt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

