My Standout Good and Bad Inexpensive Wines from the Last Month.

Michel Torino Don David Malbec ’09–intense and a full on attack, a pelting of dark berries from this Argentinian with a body for the scrummage rather than the tango!

Superquinn, Dunes Stores

Bolla Pinot Grigio ’09- light and decidedly delicate, in fact almost insignificant or non existent; the automatic doors out of the store almost didn’t open when I was leaving with this inconsequential wine.

Can’t remember, but it had automatic doors

Cousino Macul Sauvignon blanc 2010. A delightful white, so fresh and bursting with zingy, citrus, acidity; it made my eyes water but then so do chopped onions and men in tight trousers!

Good independents

McGuigan Signature Shiraz Viognier; 09. charming aromatics and delicious concentrated peppery, fruit. This wine bowled me over, surprised I could buy this without a prescription.

Tesco

Tim Adams Clare Valley Riesling; Ahh!! Riesling, crunchy apple, bit of pear, there’s limes, sweat and touches of diesel,  reminiscent of  the handle of a rural petrol pump!

Tesco

Villa Malizia Chianti ; Perfectly balanced quite smooth with mixed red fruit and cheeky, sweet spices; from Sangiovese the latin lubricant of love!

Aldi

About winephantom

The recession has hit hard, no more tipping the last 1/2 glass out of the champagne bottle because it's a tad too warm. My lender would be kicking down my door for his interest if he knew I was drinking at all. Now I spend my time with the €5-€10 bottles discovering some real value and encountering some swamp donkeys to be avoided. This blog is a Wine Diploma holding palate, forced to trawl the murky depths populated by the bare knuckle fighters of the "entry level" wine world, trying to reveal the real crackers. Tasting notes exposed!! Regular explanations of the rubbish that are tasting notes! Wine Waffle indeed! Stories and trivia about wine.
This entry was posted in Wine Stories and General Wine Waffle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Standout Good and Bad Inexpensive Wines from the Last Month.

  1. Six wines. One month. One dud. Good return. Inexpensive Tim Adams?

    • winephantom says:

      Ok,Ok,– the Mcguigan was on special so I had enough for a Winning Streak Scratch card, I won 10 euro so I splashed out on the riesling to save my delicate innards from the Devils Piss that cheap Chardonnay is!

Leave a Reply

