Dear Winephantoms Aunt

Dear Winephantoms Aunt,

I love all things bubbles as I have done for many years now.  I get excited as soon as I hear the bottle opening!

My problem is that I seem to get just a bit too excited. I mean, I haven’t even finished my first glass yet I am giggling uncontrollably, getting loud and flirting voraciously.

I have checked the alcohol levels and they are often quite low, what is happening to me?

Kate, Surrey

Dear Kate,

Do not worry. Once everything is intact the next  morning, you’re absolutely fine! The following my help you deal with your issue!

Research has shown that there is a little known phenomenon, relating to a part of the prefrontal cortex of the brain, referred to as “le Cerveau Champenoise” (-The Champagne Brain,-) This area becomes enlarged in the frequent drinker of sparkling wines. It facilitates an up to 60% faster reaction time to popping sounds irrespective whether they come from the opening of a bottle or the back of a horse.

W.A.

 PS; a brief reference to  Le Cerveau Champenoise can be found in Edmond Burnstone Hyngleys fine translation of “Le Vins Nobles et leur Incidence sur le Cerveau Humain “ 1906.

About winephantom

The recession has hit hard, no more tipping the last 1/2 glass out of the champagne bottle because it's a tad too warm. My lender would be kicking down my door for his interest if he knew I was drinking at all. Now I spend my time with the €5-€10 bottles discovering some real value and encountering some swamp donkeys to be avoided. This blog is a Wine Diploma holding palate, forced to trawl the murky depths populated by the bare knuckle fighters of the "entry level" wine world, trying to reveal the real crackers. Tasting notes exposed!! Regular explanations of the rubbish that are tasting notes! Wine Waffle indeed! Stories and trivia about wine.
This entry was posted in Wine Problem Page-Agony Aunt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

